Some Pressing Thoughts

*** DISCLAIMER: This one’s going to be a bit rambly ***

It’s funny, or in this case perpetually infuriating, how I go through these phases of not caring/not having enough time to post and/or rant and/or blog and/or vlog. This blog hadn’t seen any love in 2 years, my YouTube channel hasn’t seen much activity in the last 10 months, and even that slowly moved from gaming videos to vlogs/rants that only lasted 4 episodes before I gave up.

This perpetual state of ping-ponging (granted it’s over a matter of many months) between this project or that project is endemic to my nature but it is, as I said, thoroughly infuriating. Infuriating, in large part, because I can be in the middle of one thing and suddenly a wild and inspiring thought will occur to me that pulls me off in a different direction and I’m off on another wild goose chase that results in, you guessed it: No Goose. This is why I tried to start a Games Development company that went nowhere, because I had lots of ideas for games that went nowhere because I never finished them. This is why I have lots of in-progress (read: some sketchy notes and some half-arsed dialogue) stories/novels that I would love to work on that I have never finished. Although that last is due to my waning inspiration. My writing, whether it’s prose or poetry or music or lyrics is another very much phase-oriented thing whereby I was able to write a whole album of songs years ago, a whole book of (angsty, terrible) poetry years ago, write the music and lyrics for 2 different EPs for my now defunct metal band and begin world building and short story writing for a large fantasy novel series I’ve had in the works for years – all with very long bouts of intervening time devoid of any kind of inspiration or motivation. It’s like I wax and wane like the moon between a content consumption phase and a content creation phase.

My recent post baring my soul and my particular thoughts and interests caught a certain important somebody very off guard (primarily because I was a total idiot in terms of how that was handled) but in any event those are all things that are still very much at the forefront of my mind. I’ve spent a lot of time on Twitter recently (another phase I go through), in part due to that certain important someone reviving my latent civic pride (for want of a better phrase) and reminding me of the then upcoming referendum on same-sex marriage in Ireland. To that end I have been following my many different civil rights passions through the medium of Twitter, sharing important calls to action, cool and progressive news stories and all manner of content whether simply interesting or directly related to one of my many civil rights passions. I’ll get to those passions in a later post as I want to talk through those various items in respect to how far we’ve come and how much further we still have to go etc… (you get the picture)

Anyway, that’s enough self-aggrandising via the medium of self-deprecation. Talk to you all next time!

Leave a Reply

